Riding the Rockies

06/13/2011 20:00

The World is Your Playground.

Ride The Rockies-  A 6 day cycling adventure through the breath-taking Rockies of Colorado.

Arriving at the start of Ride the Rockies,

the views were absolutely breath taking.  I felt like going for a run into my newly found wonderland.  So I did...a nice long run.  My sciatic issues from months past were no longer a threat.  Slowly getting back into the swing of the feeling of running again.

Starting Day.  Let the cycling begin...

Day one started in what felt like the American Alps, a blissful wonder land for the nature loving adventurer....  Love at first sight...

I looked for sheep but there weren't any.  Pleasant start to an epic week ahead.  Breathtaking views and wonderfully open roads.  I latched on to a couple of groups from the beginning.  It was a long time on my bike.  Then the dirt came, 14 miles of dirt road up to 12,125 ft elevation.  A sign read, "Welcome to Cottonwood Pass."  There was snow, and there was  a party.  It was a pretty good party as a matter in fact,  made complete with a DJ and the "Wimpy Weiners" booth.  And, for the first time ever, I trekked through snow in my cycling shoes..

Things were getting chilly so it was time to head back down.   I'm talking down, as in downhill.  Hit speeds on my bike I dare not repeat.  It felt insanely good.  Suddenly felt the heat on my back again as the roads leveled off and elevation was back down to 8,000-ish ft.  Then the day on my bike was complete. 

 

Next Day. 

More mountains, and beauty everywhere.  Lungs finally adjusting well to the elevation.  Its just easier to breathe.  Riding alongside the river, I see it's raging.  It actually looks really fun.  The epic proportions of snow that hit Colorado this past winter drained heaping amounts of waters into the rivers.  I think of finding an inner-tube often and attaching an umbrella to it.  Now thinking about it, hitting some of those rapids would send an umbrella flying off my inter-tube.  Oh well.   Passed some neat mining towns on this ride and cycled up to the 10th Mountain Division Memorial.  The climbs are worth every inch, every drop of sweat.  Watch out folks, I have an oxygen can in my back pocket to inhale at any given second.  Easy energy.  Then I ride into the town for the night, rest on the grass for a bit chatting and celebrating with new friends.  Good people call for good times.  And then I was off for a run..

Yep, its a TYR top, which outfitted me throughout the majority of my rides.

 

Whichever Day.  Now they are starting to blend together.


This day quickly became a bliss.  Yes, of course there is more uphill and downhill but it is just normal nowadays.  I'm beyond distracted.   Lots of green...

 

Munched on some bugs this day.  They stuck to my teeth cause the smile wouldn't leave my giddy face.

 

Training these days has never felt so good.  Its a day dream come true. 

On this day, groups latched on and off, and by the end of the 85 or something so mile day, we landed ourselves in a beautiful town called Steamboat.   So pretty!  

 

Day Awesome. Its a new day but not really.

The day came and went too quickly.  Somebody's birthday was today and it wasn't mine...

But I have protection, you see, I have EFX bracelet and anklet  on my side.

The group today was fun, to say the least.   Shortest and quickest ride of the week.  The pace was pushed and it felt so good. Hello Steamboat, I'm exhausted but alive, and feel incredibally free...

 

 Day Radical. 

It is a late start and hot out.   It takes me 2 hours to catch the "peleton."  I have lots of time to think as I ride alone.  An uphill suddenly strikes from the beginning and it doesn't stop until I reach snow.  

Alone in my intense deep thoughts of bliss.  I am reminded why I have never allowed myself to be chained down to a cubicle.  Money isn't my motive, living is.  Life is too short.  The Continental Divide sign shows up and I find myself at Rabbit Ears Pass.

  I'm realizing the day is just beginning. 

It is the most emotional day.  The scenery has struck my heart beyond words. The diversity of the land accelerates my speed and I realize how exhausted I still am.  The wind jerks on my bike for hours, but the smile still won't leave my face.  The day seems to be never ending. 

Hours and hours pass as I rode on.  I remember looking up at the sky because it is so blue against the puffs of clouds in the sky, I am distracted again.  Rolled pass some hot springs and almost felt like fainting. I hit a low and continued the journey alone.  Ten miles to go.  Ten miles through an incredible valley, on a bit of a decline, the exhaustion is forgotten. More emotional thoughts and then the day on my bike has ended.

Feel Good Brrr Day.

Didn't quite comprehend the ride was coming to an end this day. I was distracted again by everything awesome. Woke up to some awfully brisk temperatures. Thank goodness during my last minute packing I threw in my seriously warm gear.  Some cyclists this morning got snowed on, some got rained on, but me, I stayed in my dry bubble. 

Thank you, Rudy Project for keeping my eyes and head protected comfortably throughout Riding the Rockies.

Cycled up a mountain with snow, then down that mountain with snow, crossing the Continental Divide into a valley.  I just remember a little lake towards the end.  Just another distraction.  And yes, the memory was definitely worth another photo, or two.

Clif Shot products were there to fulfill my every nutritional need throughtout the entire adventure.   Fantastic and tasty goods. 

  Just after the lake I rolled into an adorable old town where bells rang and where there were lots of cheers.  It was a finish line!!  The adventure was over, well, the "Ride the Rockies" portion of my life adventure was over anyways...

Oh, but don't you worry, amongst the cycling I did manage to get in some alright swims as well...

And found myself some radical new tires.  A quick thanks to  Continental tires for the newly found and much appreciated support!

I am a triathlete and the world is your playground.

 

 

Back

Search site

© 2011 All rights reserved.